Hey everyone!
I taught today for the 2nd time! It actually went really well!
I had 5 Thai students in my class all pre-intermediate level. The lesson was over present-perfect tenses and adverb frequency...which basically means, teaching the student how to use the words usually, always, never, seldom, rarely, and sometimes, in a sentence. The students got the hang of it rather quickly, and we played a fun game at the end using the language. It was a blast! I was graded on the lesson afterwards, and made a great score! My teaching partner didn't show up, so I had to teach an hour early, but that means I got finished early, so it's all good.
I went out for dinner afterwards with the gang after everyone had finished teaching, and had cooked morning glory, with garlic and steamed rice. It was super flavorful and not spicy at all. Towards the end of the meal my taste buds were thanking me from saving them a trip to Hadies. I also had a lemongrass soda which tasted like a jelly bean. Haha. It was delish! So awesome!
After dinner I went out for ice cream with Nicoli (one of the students from the school) and a group of Australians from the school and their friends. That was very fun, and everyone around me was cracking jokes the whole time. They were all super sarcastic, which was awesome. I had Brazilian passion ice cream, and tamarind ice cream which was a little spicy...interesting, but also really good.
Then I came back to the school and was going to blog, but ended up talking with 2 of the girls who are staying at the school. We were all hanging out down in the kitchen area talking about bad carma, the twilight zone, and this fortune Cate (one of the students) received while visiting the Big Buddha on top of the sacred mountain. It was quite fun, and now I am pretty tired.
The highlights of yesterday were, of course, talking with my little sister Ruthie over skype before she went to school, aaaaannnnddd climbing a mountain to eat a spicy seafood in this tropical tree house with jungle monkeys. Soooo cool!
Had a lot of good journal time as well, and washed my clothes in the bathtub. The water is so dirty here, sometimes I think my clothes are cleaner before I wash them. :)
I started this morning at 7:30am with 45minute run throughout the streets of Phuket Town. There are no traffic rules here...basically...and everyone parks their bike on the sidewalk....which means running is really dangerous. So I ran with Erin, and Ross today, and led the way through the streets into oncoming traffic. A couple times we almost got ran over, or at least our foot crushed by an impatient motor car, or bike passing through. It was exciting, and kept me on my toes...literally...I felt like I was running so fast. Looking back, we covered a lot of ground in a short amount of time. I was thinking about how much I love to run with people, and how much I miss running with the team back home.... But today was really cool too. There is a running club here called the HHH (reminds me of the CCC...maybe that's a bad sign), that supposedly runs through the jungle, across mountains, and along the beach every weekend. I am thinking about giving them a call this weekend and joining them....fun stuff.
Well, since I taught in class today, I am free tomorrow after lunch, which means more stories to come... :)
Love you all and miss you greatly!
Btw, news travels super slow here, and I just heard about the tragedy in Arizona....my heart goes out to all of you...
No comments:
Post a Comment